After the filing deadline: what a supplier's registry record shows in August
The June 30 annual reporting window has closed. For six weeks, the registry has been carrying the answer to a question you cannot ask in spring — who filed, who filed late, and who did not file at all.
7-min read

Editor's note
In May, this publication covered the annual filing window while it was still open, and closed on a promise: that from early July the registry would carry the freshest snapshot of a supplier's declared operating state available all year, and that there were checks worth running once the window shut.
The window has been shut for six weeks. This issue is that follow-up, and the delay turns out to be useful. In early July the picture was still settling — filings submitted near the deadline take time to publish, and the administrative consequences of not filing had not yet landed. By August both halves of the signal are readable: the companies that filed have posted their 2025 numbers, and the companies that did not have started to acquire the registry flag that says so.
August is, for this reason, the most informative month in the Chinese registry calendar. It is worth using.
What actually changed on June 30
Every enterprise registered in mainland China must file an annual report between January 1 and June 30 covering the previous calendar year. This is a legal obligation under the State Council's Enterprise Information Publicity regulations, not a formality, and since 2020 it has been consolidated — the "many-in-one" filing pushes a single submission out to the market-supervision, tax, statistics, and foreign-exchange authorities at once.
What the report contains is the part that matters to a foreign buyer. It carries shareholder and capital-contribution detail, including subscribed capital, paid-in capital, and the timing and method of contribution. It carries employment figures. It carries the headline financial position — total assets, liabilities, revenue, profit, and tax paid. Some of it syncs automatically from the tax and social-security systems rather than being self-declared, which makes those fields harder to dress up than a company profile or a sales deck.
One caveat governs how much of that a buyer will actually see. The report must be filed in full to the authorities, but companies hold a statutory option to mark selected financial figures — revenue and profit in particular — as not publicly disclosed. A blank where turnover should be is therefore not a broken record or a failed filing; it is a choice the company made, and it is exercised often enough that it should be read as ordinary rather than evasive. The capital, shareholder, workforce, and status fields remain visible regardless, and those carry most of the verification weight.
For most of the year, the public record of a Chinese supplier is a registration document plus whatever was filed twelve to eighteen months ago. For the few months after June 30, it is that plus a current-year snapshot of how the business actually performed. That gap between what is knowable in March and what is knowable in August is real, and most buyer-side checklists never account for it.
Reading a just-updated license
A business license that has been refreshed in the current filing cycle should be read differently from one that has not — not because the document changes shape, but because the fields around it now have a recent comparison point.
Compare the capital position against the order. The annual report distinguishes subscribed capital from paid-in capital, and the difference is informative. Registered capital is a liability ceiling the shareholders have committed to, not money sitting in an account — a distinction that catches out a great many foreign buyers. Under the amended Company Law effective July 2024, shareholders of a limited liability company must pay in subscribed capital within five years, with a transition window running to mid-2027 for companies registered before that date. A supplier whose paid-in figure is a small fraction of a large subscribed figure is not necessarily unsound, but it is a supplier whose shareholders have not yet put in what they promised, and payment terms should reflect that rather than ignore it.
Read the workforce and revenue figures against the claimed capacity. A company presenting itself as a manufacturer with its own production line, whose annual report shows a headcount in the single digits, is describing one business and filing another. This is the cheapest available test of the trading-company-behind-the-storefront pattern, and it requires no cooperation from the supplier at all.
Check whether the filing happened. This is the check that only works after June 30, and it is the most valuable one in the issue.
What a missing filing means
A company that fails to file its annual report within the window can be placed on the List of Enterprises with Abnormal Operations — the 经营异常名录. The listing is public, free to check, and it is the single cleanest adverse signal the Chinese registry carries.
The grounds for listing are worth knowing precisely, because they are narrower and more meaningful than a general "something is wrong" flag. Under the governing measures, an enterprise can be listed for failing to publish its annual report in time; for failing to disclose information when ordered to; for publishing information that conceals the true situation or is false or misleading; or for being unreachable at its registered address or place of business. That last ground is the one buyers should sit with: a supplier the authorities could not reach at the address on its own license is a supplier with an address problem, and an address problem is a recourse problem.
The consequences escalate on a published schedule. A company that stays listed without correcting the underlying issue for three full years is escalated to the Serious Violations and Dishonesty List — the market-supervision authorities publish a warning in the sixty days before that mark falls due, and the listing follows within ten working days of it passing. A company that does not file for three consecutive years also risks having its business license revoked outright. In between, listed companies routinely encounter friction that a trading partner will feel indirectly — difficulty opening bank accounts, obtaining loans, signing certain contracts, or bidding for public work.
Two refinements matter when reading this signal, and both cut against over-reacting.
The first is that a listing can be cured, and the rules for doing so were rewritten recently enough that older guidance is now wrong. An abnormal-operations listing comes off once the company files the missing report and applies to the market-supervision office that listed it. For the more serious list, the current credit-repair measures — in force since December 2025 — let a company apply for early removal one year into the publicity period, provided it has met the obligations imposed on it, actively remediated, and picked up no further serious penalty in the meantime; absent an application, removal becomes automatic at three years. Late filing is, in the registry's own logic, meaningfully better than no filing.
The second is that removal does not erase the history. The event remains visible in the filing record even after the current status returns to normal. So the question to ask in August is not only "is this supplier flagged today" but "has this supplier been flagged before, and how did it resolve." A company with a clean current status and a pattern of late filings behind it is telling you something about its administrative discipline — which, for a supplier you will be relying on to hold documentation and honour terms, is not a trivial thing to know.
The August checklist
Three checks, none of which needs the supplier's cooperation, all of which read better now than they will in six months.
Confirm the current filing landed. Pull the registry record and establish that a report for the previous year was filed inside the window. This is a binary fact and it is public.
Read the new numbers against the pitch. Capital paid in versus subscribed, headcount versus claimed production capacity, and — where the company has chosen to publish them — revenue and profit against the size of the order being discussed. Each is a consistency test between what the supplier says and what the supplier filed.
Check the abnormal-operation status and its history. Current flag, past flags, and how any past flag was resolved. A clean record is reassuring; a cured listing is a conversation; an active listing on a supplier asking for deposit terms is a reason to stop and look harder.
Why the timing is the point
Registry data is not equally informative all year. In February, a supplier's public record is stale by construction — the most recent annual report describes a year that ended fourteen months ago. In August, it describes a year that ended eight months ago and has just been declared, and the companies that declined to declare it are identifiable.
A buyer running due diligence on a mainland supplier has a window here. It is open now. It narrows through the autumn as the data ages, and it closes entirely when the next cycle starts in January and the record goes quiet again until the following summer.
If a supplier relationship is going to matter in 2027, the cheapest month to examine it is this one.
Further reading
For the filing window covered while it was still open, see the SAMR annual filing and what buyers should watch. For the document itself, field by field, see the guide to reading and verifying a Chinese business license.
The registration and filing record behind large mainland manufacturers — the kind these checks read against — is carried on verification pages such as Lenovo (Beijing) Limited, Gree Electric Appliances (Wuhu) Co., Ltd., and Luxshare Precision Industry (Chuzhou) Ltd..
Sources
- Provisional Regulations on the Publicity of Enterprise Information (State Council Decree No. 654) — for the January 1 to June 30 annual reporting obligation covering the previous calendar year
- Interim Measures for the Administration of Lists of Enterprises with Abnormal Business Operations (effective 1 October 2014) — for the four grounds for listing: late annual report; failure to disclose when ordered; false or misleading disclosure; unreachable at the registered address or place of business
- Administrative Measures for the Market Supervision Serious Violations and Dishonesty List (State Administration for Market Regulation), in force since 15 July 2026, which repealed and replaced the 2021 measures issued as SAMR Order No. 44 — for the listing framework and for the delegation of removal conditions and procedure to the credit-repair measures below
- Administrative Measures for Market Supervision Credit Repair (SAMR Order No. 107), in force since 25 December 2025, Article 13 — for early removal on application one year into the publicity period subject to three conditions (obligations under the administrative decision fulfilled; corrective measures taken and adverse effects eliminated; no further serious administrative penalty), and for automatic removal once the publicity period reaches three years
- Beijing Municipal Administration for Market Regulation, published guidance on transfer to the serious-violations list on completion of three years in the abnormal-operations list — for the sixty-day advance notice before the three-year mark and the ten-working-day listing interval after it
- Provisions governing the public disclosure of annual report contents — for the statutory option enterprises hold to mark selected financial figures, including revenue and profit, as not publicly disclosed on the registry
- The National Enterprise Credit Information Publicity System (国家企业信用信息公示系统, gsxt.gov.cn) — the official, free public registry operated by the State Administration for Market Regulation, for annual report contents (shareholder and capital contribution detail, employment, assets, liabilities, revenue, profit, tax paid) and the "many-in-one" consolidated filing in effect since 2020
- The Company Law of the People's Republic of China (amended), effective 1 July 2024, together with the State Council's Provisions on the Implementation of the Registered Capital Registration Management System — for the five-year paid-in capital timeline and the transition window running to 30 June 2027 for companies registered before 1 July 2024